feature chevron celebrates STEM superstars

Chevron Australia GM Asset Development Paul Clark with the representative from WA Museum

Chevron Australia has helped recognise Western Australia’s brightest minds with our sponsorship of the 2020 Premier’s Science Awards.

The awards celebrate the State’s top science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) researchers, students and engagement initiatives.

Eight winners were announced at a special awards ceremony sponsored by Chevron, a key event in the Western Australian STEM calendar.

The winner of the Chevron Science Engagement Initiative of the Year Award was Diving Deep in the #NingalooCanyons’ – WA Museum.

Diving Deep in the #NingalooCanyons was a deep-sea expedition aimed to document and describe biodiversity in two deep-sea canyons off the Ningaloo Coast World heritage Area, and to engage people with the Gascoyne Marine Park.

The expedition operated for 32 days in the field with more than 1000 biological samples collected for the WA Museum collections from 20 remotely operated vehicle dives.

Other finalists in the category were First Lego League WA – Curtin STEM Outreach, Cliniface – 3D facial analysis for clinical translation – Curtin University and Autism Academy for Software Quality Assurance – Curtin University.

Professor Steven Tingay and Professor Ryan Lister were named as Scientists of the Year. Professor Mark Randolph was inducted into the WA Science Hall of Fame.

Chevron Australia General Manager Asset Development Paul Clark said the awards aligned with Chevron’s commitment to empower and inspire students to engage with STEM.

“At Chevron Australia, we’re committed to powering the next generation of innovators and encouraging STEM engagement across WA,” he said.

“STEM researchers, organisations and students make a significant contribution to our understanding of science and to our community more generally.

“These awards show us how much we can learn and benefit from collaboration and how science can help us to tackle some of the world’s biggest challenges.”

Find out more about the Premier’s Science Awards 2020 >